Fire Danger Period

The Fire Danger Period is when CFA restricts the use of fires in the community.  This is to help prevent fires from starting.

CFA declares the Fire Danger Period for each municipality at different times in the lead up to the fire season.  It depends on the amount of rain, grassland curing rate and other local conditions.

The Yarriambiack Shire Council is divided into 3 areas and each of these areas begin the restrictions at different times.

Yarriambiack – Central    TBC

Yarriambiack – North      1 November 2021

Yarriambiack – South      TBC

Restrictions During the Fire Danger Period – Country Fire Authority (

Yarriambiack Shire Council has not yet been notified of when the Fire Danger Period will cease.

Fire Permits required during the declared Fire Danger Period (but not on Total Fire Ban Days) are called Schedule 13 or Schedule 14 Permit.  These are no longer issued by the Yarriambiack Shire Council.

Please check online on the Fire Permits Victoria website  Check. Apply. Notify – Fire Permits Victoria

Certain restrictions on the lighting of fires are in force during the Fire Danger Period.

Information about fire restrictions within the area described above can be obtained from, your local CFA District Office or by contacting Council’s Fire Prevention Officer,
Craig Byron on 5398 0100.

Please ensure that you comply with any municipal local laws and always register your burn off on 1800 668 511.

Knowledge is the best tool when it comes to fighting fires; help spread this information by talking to your family, friends and neighbours.

Your Guide to Property Preparation

Your Guide to Survival

Download the VicEmergency App on Apple or Smartphones today.