Australia Day

2021 Australia Day Events

2021 Australia Day Award Nominations are now closed.

Nominations are currently being received for the Yarriambiack Shire Council Australia Day awards under two categories:

Citizen of the Year

Young Citizen of the Year

Awards will be awarded at designated Australia Day events throughout the Yarriambiack Shire Council on 26 January 2021.

Forms can be received by hand at the Warracknabeal Office, by post to Yarriambiack Shire Council, PO Box 243, Warracknabeal, or by emailing to

Nominations to be received by 1 December 2020


Australia Day in Victoria is a day for people from every walk of life to celebrate the things we love about our country. It is a time to celebrate our freedom – as individuals and as a nation; our lifestyle and culture; our land and its beauty, across beaches, forests, and the outback; our history and Indigenous past; and our opportunities and future.

From the smallest barbecue with friends right up to the thousand-strong People’s March down Swanston Street, the Australia Day Committee encourages all Australians to take pride in their country on January 26 and reflect on who we are as a nation.

Australia Day Award Winners 2020

Citizen of the Year – Robin Yetman – Patchewollock

Young Citizen of the Year – Maddie Cashill – Hopetoun

Event of the Year – Wine and Dine in the Stick Shed – Murtoa

Congratulations to all our award winners and other nominations. We thank you and recognise your achievements and contributions to your community and the Yarriambiack Shire Council


Other Links